Caregivers Support Line (CSL) - VA Caregiver Support Program
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Caregiver Support Program

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

Caregivers Support Line (CSL)

/images/2021/CaregiverSupportLineGraphic.jpg

VA's National Caregiver Support Line is a toll-free number for caregivers, family members, friends, Veterans, and community partners to contact for information related to caregiving and available supports and services. 

Call VA’s Caregiver Support Line at 1-855-260-3274 to learn more about the support that is available to you and for assistance connecting with the Caregiver Support Team at your local VA Medical Center.

Caregiver Support Line Expanded Hours:
- Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. ET
- Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET

Whether you're in need of immediate assistance or have questions about what services you may be eligible for, the Caregiver Support Line team can help you.

  • LEARN: more about CSP, its various services, and program eligibility.
  • NAVIGATE: barriers to accessing care.
  • CONNECT: with the CSP team at your local VAMC, who assist with referrals to local services and enrollment in CSP.
  • DISCOVER: additional VA and community resources available to help care for a Veteran.
  • RECEIVE: supportive counseling.

If you're just getting started with VA, calling the Caregiver Support Line is a great first step to take to learn more about the support that's available to you.

Caregiver Support Line (CSL) Services

 Counseling with a Social Worker

Need someone to talk to? Our social workers can provide you with emotional support and counseling during your call.

 Monthly Education Calls

We offer free, monthly one-hour telephone education calls for caregivers. Caregivers who are unable to attend the calls can access presentations online at www.caregiver.va.gov/support-line/presentations.asp.  
 

 To register for monthly education calls, contact us at 1-855-260-3274.

Upcoming CSL Education Calls

Chronic illness can wear at the threads that hold a quality life together and can be a burden for the person who is ill and their loved ones. Improving the quality of life is the goal of palliative care. They specialize in managing the symptoms and the pain of these illnesses. These providers also support the family and those who care for the person who is ill, helping them all cope with the challenges they face. This group explores the role and benefits of receiving palliative care treatment (improving quality fo life.)

October 2021- Finding Your Voice: Self-Advocacy in Medical Settings

Caregivers do a great job advocating for Veterans. At times, it may be challenging to focus attention to their own care needs which can result in a caregiver’s own health being compromised. We will look at some of the hurdles caregivers may face in getting their own needs met. Tips and ideas will be shared on how to discuss these needs with medical staff.

  • October 5, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. EST (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • October 13, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. EST (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • October 20, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. EST (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

November 2021- Preserving Caregivers on the Front

The role of being a caregiver calls you to focus on the person who needs care instead of yourself. Your self-care can be neglected, regardless of if the Veteran for whom you provide care has nonstop or periodic care needs. It is this loss of attention to self that can place caregivers at risk. This group strives to bring the needed attention back to the caregiver. Self-care tools such as mindfulness are discussed. These tools are aimed at supporting the wellbeing of those caring for a Veteran.

  • November 2, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. EST (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • November 10, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. EST (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • November 17, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. EST (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)

December 2021- Beyond the Blues: Coping with Caregiver Depression

Are you a caregiver who is carrying the heavy weight of depression? Caregivers are at least two times more likely to suffer from depression than non-caregivers. Depression is an illness that if left unaddressed, can negatively impact your thoughts, feelings, and physical health. Self-care tools, strategies, and treatment options for managing depression will be discussed.

  • December 7, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. EST (9:00 a.m. CT; 8:00 a.m. MT; 7:00 a.m. Pacific)
  • December 15, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. EST (6:00 p.m. CT; 5:00 p.m. MT; 4:00 p.m. Pacific)
  • December 22, 2021, at 3:00 p.m. EST (2:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. Pacific)


VA's Caregiver Support Line (CSL) Call toll-free to 1-855-260-3274

Program Referrals

We provide information and can make a referral to your local VAMC CSP team, who will connect you with nearby resources and services as you care for a Veteran. You can find your CSP team using the following locator tool: www.caregiver. va.gov/support/New_CSC_Page.asp.

What to Expect When Calling 

When calling the Caregiver Support Line, you will hear an initial greeting. Please listen carefully to the options to route your call to our dedicated team. We look forward to talking with you.

Caregivers Programs

If you'd like additional information or to learn more about the services listed below, contact VA's Caregiver Support Line 1-855-260-3274 or your local VAMC CSP team.

  •  Program of General Caregiver Support Services (PGCSS)
  •  VA In-Home and Support Services
  •  Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers (PCAFC)
  • Caregiver Support Program (CSP) - Menu of Resources

Caregiver Support Coordinator 1-855-260-3274

VAMC CSP Team

Your local VAMC CSP team are licensed professionals who can support you by matching you with services for which you are eligible, and providing you with valuable information about resources that can help you stay smart, strong and organized as you care for the Veteran you love.

Call VA’s Caregiver Support Line at 1-855-260-3274 to learn more about the support that is available to you, and for assistance connecting with the VAMC CSP team at your local VA Medical Center.